New Heights Middle School

Career Clusters / PSAT Testing / SCPASS / SCREADY

Click on the link at the bottom of this page for the 2018 Testing Schedule
A career cluster is a group of occupations that relate to an industry or profession. South Carolina has adopted sixteen (16) career clusters. The Education and Economic Development Act of 2005 (EEDA) requires all high schools in South Carolina to offer courses in at least three (3) career clusters. Chesterfield County offers courses in Thirteen of the Sixteen clusters.

A career major is an area of study within a larger occupational field or career cluster. EEDA requires all students in South Carolina to complete an Individual Graduation Plan (IGP) in the eighth grade and declare a major of study in the tenth grade. You may complete more than one major in high school.

South Carolina's 16 Career Clusters
(highlighted clusters offered through Chesterfield County Career & Technology programs)
  • Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
  • Architecture and Construction
  • Arts, AV Technology & Communications
  • Business, Management and Administration
  • Education and Training
  • Finance
  • Government and Public Administration
  • Health Science
  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Human Services
  • Information Technology
  • Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing, Sales and Service
  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
  • Transportation, Distribution and Logistics

Attn: 8th graders
PSAT - Oct. 11
Cost $15
Register for the PSAT in the Guidance Office by Sept. 29.
SC Governor's School of the Arts & Humanities